Tompkins County
New York


Establishing the Tompkins County Energy Task Force


Department:Planning DepartmentSponsors:


  1. PDEQ Memo on Energy Adv Board_kb_12-14-16v2

Resolution/Document Body

WHEREAS, Tompkins County has been actively working on energy and climate change issues since 2001 when it installed solar panels on the public library and began to track its greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions and develop action plans to reduce emissions, and


WHEREAS, the 2015 Tompkins County Comprehensive Plan set a principle that “Tompkins County should be a place where the energy system meets community needs without contributing additional greenhouse gases to the atmosphere,” and


WHEREAS, the 2016 Tompkins County Energy Roadmap called for setting interim GHG emissions goals for 2020, 2025, 2030 and appropriate intervals thereafter, and tracking progress on achieving them, as well as evaluating progress in achieving the vision of the Roadmap, and


WHEREAS, the 2016 Tompkins County Energy and Economic Development Task Force Report called for implementing the recommendations and evaluating progress regularly, and


WHEREAS, in order to achieve these goals and evaluate progress, it is vital to obtain advice from experts in the fields of energy, renewables, climate science, economic development, transportation, business operation, and other sectors, who are up-to-date on local opportunities and concerns around energy, climate, and energy-related economic development issues, and


WHEREAS, there are many energy and climate-related programs and initiatives being led by the County and other groups in the community that may benefit from input and guidance from such a board, and


WHEREAS, the Energy Task Force will be tasked with providing input and guidance to the County Planning Department and the Legislature on the topics of energy, climate change, and energy-related economic development, and will be available to provide advice to other community groups on those topics, as requested, now therefore be it


RESOLVED, on recommendation of the Planning, Development and Environmental Quality Committee, That a Tompkins County Energy Task Force be established with a three-year term of operation and consist of 15-20 members who will be appointed by the Legislature,


RESOLVED, further, That the membership shall include representatives from different segments of the community, such as:

Tompkins County Area Development

Tompkins County Chamber of Commerce

Large-sized Business

Small-sized Business

Renewable Energy/Energy Efficiency Consultant or Contractor

Climate Change Expert

Tompkins County Council of Governments

City of Ithaca

Tompkins County


Real Estate Development:  Developer, Architect, or Engineer

Local Organization Involved in Energy Issues

Local Organization Involved in Sustainability Issues

Local Organization Involved in Economic Issues

Local Organization Involved in Social Justice Issues

Energy Generation/Utility

Higher Education



Meeting History

Jan 3, 2017 5:30 PM Media Tompkins County Legislature Regular Meeting

The following two suggestions for the resolution were accepted as friendly: changing the words “the following” to “different” in the last Resolved and changing the name of the board from “Energy Advisory Board” to “Energy Task Force”.

At this time, Mr. Marx explained the purpose of the task force and spoke about the number of recommendations made in reports done recently around energy and said it will be important to have community engagement when going through processes.

It was MOVED by Ms. Kiefer, seconded by Ms. Kelles, and unanimously adopted by voice vote, to approve the following amendment to the last Resolved:

Separate the statement “Local Organization Involved in Energy, Sustainability, Economic, and/or Social Justice Issues (2)” into four separate statements in the list of membership as follows:

“Local Organization Involved in Energy Issues

Local Organization Involved in Sustainability Issues

Local Organization Involved in Economic Issues

Local Organization Involved in Social Justice Issues”.

MOVER:Martha Robertson, Member
SECONDER:David McKenna, Member
AYES:Will Burbank, Carol Chock, James Dennis, Rich John, Anna Kelles, Dooley Kiefer, Daniel Klein, Michael Lane, Leslyn McBean-Clairborne, Martha Robertson, David McKenna, Glenn Morey, Michael Sigler, Peter Stein