Tompkins County
New York


Authorization to Accept New York State Division of Criminal Justice (NYSDCJS) Crime Prevention Grant Funding - Sheriff's Office


Department:Sheriff's DepartmentSponsors:
Category:GrantsFunctions:Public Safety


  1. Printout

Resolution/Document Body

WHEREAS, the Sheriff’s Office has been awarded funding through the New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS) Office of Program Development and Funding in the amount of $7,500 for the contract period of October 1, 2017, to September 30, 2018, to assist in law enforcement and crime prevention services in Tompkins County, and


WHEREAS, these funds will be used to replace Road Patrol digital cameras to enhance the department’s response to the community, now therefore be it


RESOLVED, on recommendation of the Public Safety Committee, That Tompkins County accept these grant funds for the purpose of procuring the aforementioned departmental equipment,


RESOLVED, further, That the Finance Director be and hereby is authorized to make the following budget adjustments for 2017:


REVENUE:                              3113.44389                            Other Public Safety Revenue                            $7,500

APPROPRIATION:              3113.52220                            Departmental Equipment                            $7,500







Meeting History

Oct 19, 2017 3:00 PM  Public Safety Committee Regular Meeting

Ms. Robertson inquired as to which cameras the resolution was referring to. Sheriff Lansing stated the cameras are the hand-held cameras used by Patrol Officers and Investigators to take crime scene and auto-accident photos. Mr. Robison explained that this will allow each Officer and Investigator to have an assigned camera and they will no longer be sharing devices.

MOVER:Martha Robertson, Member
SECONDER:James Dennis, Member
AYES:Rich John, Martha Robertson, James Dennis, David McKenna
ABSENT:Anna Kelles
Nov 9, 2017 5:30 PM Media Tompkins County Legislature Regular Meeting
MOVER:Anna Kelles, Member
SECONDER:Michael Sigler, Member
AYES:Will Burbank, Carol Chock, James Dennis, Rich John, Anna Kelles, Dooley Kiefer, Daniel Klein, Michael Lane, Leslyn McBean-Clairborne, Martha Robertson, David McKenna, Glenn Morey, Michael Sigler, Shawna Black