Tompkins County
New York


Appointment of the Tompkins County Administrator


Department:Tompkins County LegislatureSponsors:

Resolution/Document Body

WHEREAS, by Charter, the position of County Administrator is appointed by, is directly responsible to, and serves at the pleasure of, the Tompkins County Legislature, and


WHEREAS, a search committee consisting of six County Legislators, two County department heads, the president of the CSEA White Collar unit, and four community representatives assisted with a national search and selection process, and


WHEREAS, the full Legislature, upon the advice and counsel of this search committee, after conducting their own interview process, and after taking into consideration input from Department Heads and Administration Department staff (who also had an opportunity to meet the finalists), gave due consideration to all finalist candidates, and have hereby recommended appointing Jason Molino to the position of County Administrator, now therefore be it


RESOLVED, That the appointment of Jason Molino to the position of Tompkins County Administrator is hereby confirmed by the Legislature, with a start date to be effective January 29, 2018.   


Meeting History

Dec 19, 2017 5:30 PM Media Tompkins County Legislature Regular Meeting

Mr. Dennis, Chair of the Search Committee, spoke of the process for a wide search that began with 30 applicants. He said it was another good process that County government has undertaken to fill a very important position and recognized the work of the Department of Human Resources Commissioner, Amy Guererri, and Deputy Commissioner, Stephen Estes, and Search Committee members for their work and commitment to the process.

MOVER:James Dennis, Member
SECONDER:Dooley Kiefer, Member
AYES:Will Burbank, Carol Chock, James Dennis, Rich John, Anna Kelles, Dooley Kiefer, Daniel Klein, Michael Lane, Leslyn McBean-Clairborne, David McKenna, Glenn Morey, Shawna Black, Michael Sigler, Martha Robertson