Tompkins County
New York


Confirming the Appointment of the Tompkins County Commissioner of Social Services


Department:County AdministrationSponsors:
Category:AppointmentsFunctions:Social Services


  1. Printout

Resolution/Document Body

WHEREAS, the position of Commissioner of Social Services was vacated by longstanding Commissioner Patricia Carey in July 2017, and


WHEREAS, by Charter, the County Administrator is charged with appointing an individual to the position, subject to confirmation by the County Legislature and appropriate state agency, and


WHEREAS, to aid in the selection process, the County Administrator empaneled and chaired a search committee consisting of two County Legislators, the Deputy County Administrator, three County department heads, the president of the CSEA White Collar unit, and three community representatives that engaged in a six-month national recruitment and search, and


WHEREAS, upon the advice and counsel of the search committee, the County Administrator has appointed Ms. Kit Kephart to the position of Commissioner of Social Services, a position that carries a term of five years as required by Charter and New York State, now therefore be it


RESOLVED, on recommendation of the Budget, Capital, and Personnel Committee, That the Tompkins County Legislature hereby confirms the appointment of Kit Kephart to a five-year term as Commissioner of Social Services effective upon State confirmation of her appointment.



Meeting History

Oct 3, 2017 4:45 PM  Budget, Capital and Personnel Committee Special Meeting
draft Draft
MOVER:Leslyn McBean-Clairborne, Member
SECONDER:Michael Sigler, Vice Chair
AYES:James Dennis, Michael Sigler, Leslyn McBean-Clairborne, Glenn Morey, Daniel Klein
Oct 3, 2017 5:30 PM Media Tompkins County Legislature Regular Meeting

Mr. Mareane first asked if there was any interest from the Legislature to hold an executive session to discuss this appointment; there was no interest expressed.

Mr. Mareane announced the proposed appointment of Kit Kephart and that she has served as the Deputy Commissioner for a couple of years, was employed in the Department for 14 years, and has extensive experience prior to that. He said it was a long and thorough search process and Ms. Kephart emerged as the best candidate. Mr. Dennis said there is a compliance agreement that will be in place and signed by all appropriate parties that will be operative when she takes office.

Ms. Kelles said as Chair of the Health and Human Services Committee she was honored and happy to support the appointment of Kit Kephart. She commended Ms. Kephart for her presentation on the Department’s budget to the Expanded Budget Committee and spoke of the importance of community involvement and said she looks forward to Ms. Kephart’s work in this area.

Mrs. McBean-Clairborne spoke from a diversity and inclusion standpoint and commended the Search Committee and the Legislature for helping employees reach their full potential within an organization; it is one of the highest levels one can achieve in terms of inclusion and she appreciates seeing this appointment happen. She said she served on the Search Committee and was interested in the expectations and involvement of the Department with the community and looks forward to Ms. Kephart being engaged and involved with the community to build productive partnerships so that people who need the Department’s services feel they are being respected and their needs are being met. She commented that Ms. Kephart was one of the first Workforce Diversity and Inclusion Committee members and was responsible for its logo.

Ms. Kephart thanked the Legislature and looks forward to strengthening the Department's partnership with the community. She said she is honored to accept the appointment of Commissioner and looks forward to continuing to do the work she has been doing for a long time and serving the people who work at the Department of Social Services.

MOVER:James Dennis, Member
SECONDER:Glenn Morey, Member
AYES:Will Burbank, Carol Chock, James Dennis, Rich John, Anna Kelles, Dooley Kiefer, Daniel Klein, Michael Lane, Leslyn McBean-Clairborne, Martha Robertson, David McKenna, Glenn Morey, Michael Sigler