Tompkins County
New York


Authorization to Participate in State Septic System Replacement Fund – Health Department


Department:Health DepartmentSponsors:
Category:GrantsFunctions:Health Related


  1. Printout
  2. septicptg

Resolution/Document Body

WHEREAS, the Clean Water Infrastructure Act of 2017 established the “State Septic System Replacement Fund” and the Tompkins County Health has the opportunity to participate, and


              WHEREAS, the Fund is being targeted to priority geographic areas within participating counties that contain drinking water supplies where septic systems and cesspools are known or suspected to be impacting the water body, and


WHEREAS, the Health Department wishes to participate in the program by providing grants from the Fund to reimburse selected property owners for a portion of the cost of replacing failing septic systems and installing more environmentally effective systems, and


WHEREAS, property owners can be reimbursed for up to 50% of eligible costs incurred for septic system projects up to $10,000, now therefore be it


RESOLVED, on recommendation of the Health and Human Services Committee, That the Health Department is authorized to participate in said program,


RESOLVED, further, That the County Administrator or designee be and hereby is authorized to execute all agreements necessary to complete the requirements of the program.

SEQR ACTION: TYPE II-20             


Meeting History

Jan 16, 2018 5:00 PM  Health and Human Services Committee Special Meeting

Ms. Kelles explained this resolution will allow for funding to be made available for 50% of the cost of a septic system up to $10,000. She said the funding availability will be income related. Mr. Kruppa stated once the funding amount is known the Department will work out the details regarding qualification.

MOVER:Henry Granison, Member
SECONDER:Shawna Black, Member
AYES:Anna Kelles, Leslyn McBean-Clairborne, Shawna Black, Henry Granison, Amanda Champion
Jan 16, 2018 5:30 PM Media Tompkins County Legislature Regular Meeting
MOVER:Deborah Dawson, Member
SECONDER:Anna Kelles, Member
AYES:Shawna Black, Amanda Champion, Deborah Dawson, Henry Granison, Rich John, Anna Kelles, Daniel Klein, Anne Koreman, Michael Lane, Leslyn McBean-Clairborne, David McKenna, Glenn Morey, Martha Robertson, Michael Sigler